Texas-TX

Texas SR-22 Insurance: What It Is and How Much It Costs

An SR-22 is a certificate that is filed with the state of Texas by your car insurance company to verify that you have the minimum amount of liability coverage required by law. You may be required to file an SR-22 if you have been convicted of certain traffic offenses, such as DUI or reckless driving, or if you have had your driver’s license suspended or revoked.

How to file an SR-22 with the Texas DPS

To file an SR-22 with the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS), you will need to contact your car insurance company and request that they file the SR-22 on your behalf. You may need to pay a fee for this service, which will vary depending on your insurance company.

Texas Minimum Liability Amounts

The minimum liability amounts for car insurance in Texas are:

  • $30,000 for bodily injury or death of one person in an accident
  • $60,000 for bodily injury or death of two or more people in an accident
  • $25,000 for property damage in an accident.

Which Texas Insurance Companies Offer the Cheapest SR-22 Insurance?

You may be able to find cheaper SR-22 insurance by shopping around and comparing quotes from different insurance companies. Keep in mind that the cheapest insurance may not always provide the best coverage, so it is important to carefully consider your options and choose a policy that meets your needs.

How Long Will You Need an SR-22 Certificate in Texas?

The length of time you will need an SR-22 certificate in Texas will depend on the specific circumstances of your case. In some cases, you may need to maintain an SR-22 for three years, while in other cases the requirement may be longer or shorter.

Average Costs of an SR-22 in Texas

The average cost of an SR-22 in Texas will vary depending on a number of factors, including your driving record, the type of vehicle you drive, and the amount of coverage you need. In general, however, you can expect to pay more for an SR-22 policy than you would for a standard car insurance policy. The additional cost of an SR-22 is typically due to the increased risk associated with insuring a driver who has had their license suspended or revoked.

How To Get SR-22 Insurance in Texas

To get SR-22 insurance in Texas, you will need to follow these steps:

  • Determine if you are required to file an SR-22. You may be required to file an SR-22 if you have been convicted of certain traffic offenses, such as DUI or reckless driving, or if you have had your driver’s license suspended or revoked
  • Contact your car insurance company and request an SR-22. You will need to provide your insurance company with information about your driving history and the reason you are required to file an SR-22. You may need to pay a fee for this service
  • Have your insurance company file the SR-22 with the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS). Your insurance company will file the SR-22 on your behalf, and you will receive a copy of the certificate for your records
  • Maintain your SR-22 insurance for the required length of time. You will need to maintain your SR-22 insurance for the length of time specified by the DPS. If your insurance lapses or is cancelled, your insurance company will be required to notify the DPS, and your license may be suspended again.

Find Cheap SR-22 Auto Insurance Quotes

To find cheap SR-22 auto insurance quotes in Texas, you can shop around and compare quotes from different insurance companies. Keep in mind that the cheapest insurance may not always provide the best coverage, so it is important to carefully consider your options and choose a policy that meets your needs.

Is SR-22 the Same as SR-22a in Texas?

SR-22 and SR-22a are similar in that they are both types of financial responsibility certificates that are filed with the state to verify that you have the minimum amount of liability coverage required by law. In Texas, an SR-22 is required for drivers who have been convicted of certain traffic offenses or have had their license suspended or revoked. An SR-22a, on the other hand, is required for drivers who do not own a vehicle but need to show proof of financial responsibility.

How Can I Reduce My SR-22 Rate?

There are several ways you can try to reduce your SR-22 rate in Texas:

  • Shop around and compare quotes from different insurance companies to find the best deal
  • Consider increasing your deductible, as this may lower your premium
  • Take a defensive driving course, which may qualify you for a discount on your insurance
  • Maintain a clean driving record by avoiding tickets and accidents.

How Do You Get Your SR-22 Removed?

To get your SR-22 removed in Texas, you will need to meet the requirements set by the DPS and maintain your insurance for the required length of time. Once you have met these requirements, you can contact your insurance company and request that they cancel your SR-22. You may need to pay a fee for this service.

Texas Minimum Liability Car Insurance Requirements

The minimum liability car insurance requirements in Texas are:

  • $30,000 for bodily injury or death of one person in an accident
  • $60,000 for bodily injury or death of two or more people in an accident
  • $25,000 for property damage in an accident.

What Happens If You Don’t File at the Right Time?

If you don’t file an SR-22 at the right time, your driver’s license may be suspended or revoked, and you may face additional penalties and fines. It is important to file your SR-22 as soon as possible after being notified that you are required to do so.

Will an SR-22 Insurance Certificate Raise My Auto Insurance Rates?

An SR-22 insurance certificate will typically raise your auto insurance rates in Texas. The additional cost of an SR-22 policy is typically due to the increased risk associated with insuring a driver who has had their license suspended or revoked. However, the exact amount your rates will increase will depend on a number of factors, including your driving record and the type of vehicle you drive.

Do I Need SR-22 If I Don’t Have a Car in Texas?

If you don’t have a car in Texas, you may still be required to file an SR-22. In this case, you may need to purchase non-owner SR-22 insurance, which provides liability coverage for you while you are driving a vehicle that you do not own.

Non-owner SR-22 insurance in Texas

In Texas, an SR-22 is a certificate of financial responsibility that is required by the Department of Public Safety (DPS) when a driver’s license has been suspended or revoked, or when the driver has been involved in an at-fault accident without insurance. If you are required to have an SR-22 in Texas but do not own a vehicle, you can obtain non-owner SR-22 insurance.

Non-owner SR-22 insurance is a type of liability insurance that covers you when you are operating a vehicle that you do not own. It is typically used by individuals who do not own a vehicle but still need to meet the requirements for an SR-22 in order to reinstate their driver’s license. Non-owner SR-22 insurance is typically less expensive than regular car insurance because it does not cover the vehicle itself.

To obtain non-owner SR-22 insurance in Texas, you will need to contact an insurance company that offers this type of coverage. You will need to provide proof of your driver’s license and the requirement for an SR-22. The insurance company will then issue an SR-22 certificate to the DPS on your behalf, which will allow you to reinstate your driver’s license. It is important to note that you must maintain continuous coverage with an SR-22 for the required period of time in order to keep your driver’s license. If your coverage lapses or you fail to renew your policy, the DPS may suspend your driver’s license again.

Texas DUI and DWI Convictions

In Texas, a DUI (driving under the influence) conviction can result in the suspension or revocation of your driver’s license, as well as other penalties such as fines and jail time. A DWI (driving while intoxicated) conviction can also result in similar penalties. In either case, you may be required to file an SR-22 as part of the process of getting your license reinstated.

Texas Ignition Interlock Device (IID) Requirements

If you are required to install an ignition interlock device (IID) in your vehicle in Texas, you will need to maintain an SR-22 insurance policy in order to keep your license. An IID is a device that is installed in your vehicle and requires you to blow into it in order to start the engine. It is designed to prevent you from driving while intoxicated. You may be required to install an IID if you have been convicted of a DUI or DWI, or if you have had your license suspended or revoked for other reasons.

Call Us Now